This lesson will show you how to utilize the delete button on the State/Known Data Import Log page. This allows users to delete data associated with an import job on the log page.
Required Permission: Manage Core Data Import Transformations
Where to Start
To access the Import Log:
- Click on the Administration Gear.
- Under Data, select Assessment Data Imports.
Select Your Dataset
- Select your dataset using the Data Set dropdown.
- Click View All Import History to see all recent imports.
If the following criteria is met, a user will be able to successfully remove any imported data from an import:
- The user is logged in as the user who imported the data set, and the import date occurs after 10/27/2016
- The user is logged in with the DnA Admin user account and the import date occurs after 10/27/2016
If these criteria are met, a trash can icon (5) will appear to the right of the import description, as in the screenshot above. Once you click the trash can icon, a prompt will appear, requiring you to confirm the action, press OK.
If OK is selected, any data "inserted" by that import will be deleted from their corresponding tables and the log entry will be "soft deleted", meaning that the data can be recovered at a later time by a state/known data support agent.
Records are deleted based on the timestamp with which they were inserted to the corresponding tables. Imports before 10/27/16 did not have a timestamp (only having a date). As a result, only imports after 10/27/16 can be safely deleted with this new feature. For any imports that need to be deleted before 10/27/16 please consult a known/data support agent.
If a user imports a data set multiple times, it is possible that records will be "updating" (over-writing previous data), rather than inserting. In these cases, deleting an import from where the insert occurred and not the update will not delete the inserted records. For example, if a user imports the same CAHSEE 2012-2013 file twice, hitting the trash can icon on the first import job will not necessarily remove any data from the corresponding CAHSEE 2012-2013 database tables. This is because the records from the second import, which overwrote the first, have not been deleted. Why? Because the deletion is based on the timestamp. If all data is overwritten with a second import, then the timestamp from the first import will no longer apply to those records.
If an import is accidentally deleted, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org with your request to recover the data.
Want to automate some of your datasets? Visit Automate Third Party Assessment Data to learn about the available datasets to automate.