This lesson will walk you through how to create a permission group. The permission group feature gives you the ability to pre-define and manage groups of users so that you can easily access those groups when sharing assessments, summary assessments, demographics, reports, and gradebooks.
Note: Users cannot edit or delete Permission Groups created by other users.
Required Permission: Permission Groups
Where to Start
1. Click the Administration Icon.
2. Under Users, click Permissions Groups.
If you do not see the icon/Administration link or the Permission Group link, that means you have not been granted access to those. Please contact your district for assistance.
Create a New Permission Group
Once in the list of Permission Group list, click New.
Fill in the Title (1) for your permission group, enter an optional Description (2), and click Save Permission Group (3).
1. Once you make your Share With selection, corresponding options will appear.
2. In the example above, User was chosen. Accordingly, you would need to type in the user name(s) to find and add the user(s) to the group.
Note: If you select I understand how sharing works, so get out of my way, you will be presented with all the possible sharing options.
2. Click Share.
You have now created a permissions group! At the top of the page, you will see who is included in the the group. To remove a permission, click the appropriate box and click Save Changes.
Any changes you make to a permission group will automatically take effect on anything shared with that group. For example, if you create an "RTI Team" permission group containing Joe, Tina, and Tim, and then you share an assessment and some reports with the RTI Team permission group, then Joe, Tina, and Tim can access the assessment and reports. If you later remove Joe from the permission group and add Cho, then only Tina, Tim, and Cho will have access to those items (automatically, without you having to do any re-sharing).
Using Permission Groups
Permission Groups once created, shared, and enabled, you can see them when sharing:
- Report Cards
- Custom Reports, and
- anywhere sharing your Illuminate work!
Now that you have learned how to create a permission group, learn to Share With Others.